Skip to main content

Faculty Guide to DU Libraries

Link to Articles from Databases

When making an article available within Blackboard, it is best, whenever possible, to provide a link to the article from the library's databases, rather than uploading a PDF. Making additional copies of a work may violate Copyright's Fair Use exception. Make sure you use the URL from the library databases which includes the school’s EZ Proxy prefix (https://proxy.davenport.edu) so users are given the DU log-in screen in order to gain access when off-campus.

Proquest Database

To link to an article from a Proquest database, click on the Abstract/Details tab in the article and scroll down the page until you see 'Document URL' and copy the link next to it.

You can also find the link when you click on the cite button and copy it from the citation.

cite button in proquest

Ebsco Database

To link to a specific article in EBSCOhost, on the article's detailed record page, look to the right side "tools" menu and click on the "permalink" option. The Permalink will appear at the top of the article.  Cut and paste this URL into your BB site.  

A new box will open above the title.  You have to click in it and the URL will highlight.  Control C to copy.

permalink in ebsco database

Gale Databases

1. Click on Get Link on the top bar in the article.

2.A window with the persistent URL will pop up. Click Select and then control C (to copy) and paste it where you need it. copy link

Or you can scroll down to the bottom of the article and find the URL in the source citation box

gale source citaiton