Show Me How: To Request Articles the Library Doesn't Own

Getting items from another institution

• You can request items that are not available in our collection through Interlibrary Loan, and we will get them from another library for you. 
• ILL is a free service available to DU faculty, staff, and students.

How to place a request

• Fill out the ILL form.
  • You can find the link to the ILL form on the library homepage under the library search box. Look for the link called Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
  • You can place requests for articles, reports, or a copy of a book chapter.
  • Items will be e-mailed to you. 

Tips for filling out the ILL form

• Provide as much information as possible about the item you are requesting.
  • If it goes on a reference list, it should go on the ILL form (e.g., author, title, journal, etc.).
• If you have one, please provide a link to the article or book chapter information on the form.
• It does take 1-4 days to get the article or book chapter, so plan accordingly.
• Use the Cite button in the library databases to copy and paste the citation of the article into the ILL form. 
• The library can no longer accept requests for physical items due to being a digital library.

The DU Library only acquires ScienceDirect articles that people request.

If an article is available, the button will say View PDF. Click on the blue button to download the PDF.

If you find an article that is not full-text in ScienceDirect, the button will say Order PDF.  Click on the button, fill out the form, and hit submit. We will get the article for you. There is an average delay of 1 to 4 days to get the article to you, though sometimes it can take longer. If no option to order is available, you can order the article via the Interlibrary Loan form.

Proquest Databases: 

Click on the Find a Copy button and a window will pop up that shows you the options for getting a copy of that article.

• This button takes you to a form to request the article.
• This button opens a new tab where it looks for the article in our other databases. If it does not find it, it gives you a Send it to me button, which will open the ILL form where you can request the article by filling out the form.
• Journals By Title @ DU Link: This will take you to a page where you can search to see if we have full-text access to the journal in another database. Make sure you pay attention to the publication year to see if we have full-text access for that year.
• If you still need help, click on the green Chat Online button and talk to a librarian.

Ebsco Databases: 

Click on the following buttons to request the article.

•   This button opens a new tab where it looks for the article in our other databases. If it does not find it, it gives you a Send it to me button, which will open the ILL form where you can request the article by filling out the form.
•  This takes you to the ILL form to request the article.
• If you still need help, click on the green Chat Online button and talk to a librarian.

Gale Databases:

If there is no full-text available, it will say Citation Only on the result page by the article and provide you will two options to request the article.

• Davenport University ILL Form Link: This takes you to the ILL form to request the article.
•  This button opens a new tab where it looks for the article in our other databases. If it does not find it, it gives you a Send it to me button, which will open the ILL form where you can request the article by filling out the form.
• If you still need help, click on the Library Menu: Davenport University Library at the top left, and look for the Library Chat link to open chat in a new tab and talk to a librarian.