Skip to Main Content

APA Help (7th Ed)

References: Other Sources

Personal Communication (Interviews, E-mails, Etc.)

Format

Include the first initial and last name of the person interviewed, the words, “personal communication,” and the date of the interview.  Personal communication is not added to the References list.

Examples

  • M. Schroeder (personal communication, January 25, 2009) emphasized the importance of immunization.
  • Immunization is important (M. Schroeder, personal communication, January 25, 2009).

Data Set

Format

Author. (Date). Title [Data set]. Organization. URL or DOI

Example

Kappel, C., Wedding, L., & Lecky, J. (2017). Observed presence of alien and invasive algae, 2000-2013 - Hawaii [Data set]. Ocean Tipping Points. https://catalog.data.gov/dataset/observed-presence-of-alien-and-invasive-algae-2000-2013-hawaii

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Kappel et al., 2017)

Narrative: "... according to Kappel et al. (2017),"

Report / White Paper

Annual Report

Format

Company Name. (Date). Report name. URL

Example

General Motors. (2020). Form 10-K. https://investor.gm.com/static-files/6e1cc515-418e-4c5b-9526-f8ea41e02aef

In-Text Example

Parenthetical:

  • First citation: (General Motors [GM], 2020)
  • Subsequent citations: (GM, 2020)

Narrative:

  • First citation: "... as mentioned by General Motors [GM] (2020),"
  • Subsequent citations: "... as mentioned by GM (2020),"

Financial Report

Basic Format

Author. (Date). Document title. Retrieved from (File Name and number--if available--and any other information needed to trace the report)

When the company is the author

Example 1

General Electric Co. (2009). SEC Form 10-K for the Year Ended December 31, 2009. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis Academic database.

In-text citation 

Parenthetical: (General Electric Co., 2009)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by General Electric Co. (2009),"

Example 2

Twitter, Inc. (2014). SEC Form 10-K for the Year Ended December 31, 2013. Retrieved SEC EDGAR website https://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtm

In-text citation

Parenthetical: (Twitter, 2014)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Twitter (2014),"

When the company is not the author

Example

Disclosure Incorporated. (2009). International Business Machines: Disclosure report. Retrieved from Lexis-Nexis database.

In-text citation

Parenthetical: (Disclosure Incorporated, 2009)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Disclosure Incorporated (2009),"

From a free website

Example

Texas Instruments. (2010). 2010 Annual Report to Shareholders. Retrieved from http://www.ti.com/corp/docs/investor/ar10/index.html

In-text citation

Parenthetical: (Texas Instruments, 2010)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Texas Instruments (2010),"

White Paper

Format

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Date). Title [White paper]. Organization Name. URL

Group Author Example

Wildlife Habitat Council. (2021). Supporting the global pollinator population through local action [White paper]. https://www.wildlifehc.org/knowledge-resource/white-paper-supporting-the-global-pollinator-population-through-local-action/

Individual Author Example

Rappaport Clark, J., & Irvin, B. (2008). Wildlife conservation of federal public lands [White paper]. Defenders of Wildlife. https://defenders.org/publications/wildlife-conservation-federal-public-lands-white-paper

Group Author In-Text Example

Parenthetical

  • First citation: (Wildlife Habitat Council [WHC], 2021)
  • Subsequent citations: (WHC, 2021)

Narrative: 

  • First citation: "... as mentioned by the Wildlife Habitat Council [WHC] (2021),"
  • Subsequent citations: "... as mentioned by WHC (2021),"
Individual Author In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Rappaport Clark & Irvin, 2008)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Rappaport Clark & Irvin (2008),"

Conference Paper

Format

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Full Dates of Conference). Title [Explanatory note]. Name of Conference, Location of Conference. DOI or URL if available

Example

Mintzlaff, D. M. (2008, June 22-27). Topics of common interest to the wood products and paper industries [Conference paper]. 54th Annual Pulp and Paper Industry Technical Conference, Seattle, WA, United States. https://doi.org/10.1109/PAPCON.2008.4585828

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Mintzlaff, 2008)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Mintzlaff (2008),"

Employee Handbook (Print Version)

Format

Name of Company. (Year of publication). Title of publication.

Example

General Motors. (2013). Employee handbook.

In-Text Example

Parenthetical:

  • First citation: (General Motors [GM], 2013)
  • Subsequent citations: (GM, 2013)

Narrative: 

  • First citaiton: "... as mentioned by General Motors [GM] (2013),"
  • Subsequent citations: "... as mentioned by GM (2013),"

For your in-text citation, use the company name and year, such as (General Motors, 2013).

Item From Archives

Format

Author. (Date). Title of material. [Description of material]. Name of collection (Call number, Box number, Folder number, etc.). Name and location of archives.

Example

John Todd's Photo Service, Kalamazoo. [ca. 1935]. First Federal Savings and Loan building, fourth location of Parson's Business College, corner of Michigan and Park. [Original photographic print]. Kalamazoo/Iron Mountain Collection (Box 1, Folder 17). Davenport University Archives, Grand Rapids, MI.

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (John Todd's Photo Service, Kalamazoo, [ca. 1935])

Narrative: "... as mentioned by John Todd's Photo Service [ca. 1935],"

Note: If the specific date is unknown but can be reasonably estimated, put ca. before the year (short for circa) and replace the parentheses with brackets.

Podcast

Podcast Episode

Format

Host’s Last Name, First Initial. (Host). (Date). Title [Audio or Video podcast]. In Title of series. Publisher. URL

Example

Favreau, J., & Pfeiffer, D. (Hosts). (2020, March 26). Give me GDP, or give me death [Audio podcast episode]. In Pod save America. Crooked Media. https://crooked.com/podcast/give-me-gdp-or-give-me-death/

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Favreau & Pfeiffer, 2020)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Favreau & Pfeiffer (2020),"

Podcast Series

Format

Host’s Last Name, First Initial. (Host). (Dates of series). Title of podcast [Audio or video podcast]. Publisher. URL

Example

Loe, T. (Host). (2015-2019). Living homegrown [Audio podcast]. Living Homegrown Media. https://livinghomegrown.com/podcast/

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Loe, 2015-2019)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Loe (2015-2019),"

Course Resource Materials

PowerPoint Slides / Slide Decks

Note: When PowerPoint slides / Slide Decks are only available from an instructor through Blackboard, they are considered personal communication.  Personal communication is cited in-text only in the body of your paper and not included on the References page.  Use the format (First initial. Last name, personal communication, date of interaction) for your in-text citations.  See the In-text Citation sections for examples.

PowerPoint Slides / Slide Decks Available Online:

Format

Last Name, First Initial. (year). Title of presentation [PowerPoint slides]. URL.

Example

Vasquez, Jorge. (n.d.) Indicators of a Warming Globe [PowerPoint slides]. https://climate.nasa.gov/files/5_vazquez_climate10162010-v3.ppt

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Vasquez, n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Vasquez (n.d.),"

PowerPoint Slides / Slide Decks from a Classroom Website:

Format

Last Name, First Initial. (year). Title of presentation [PowerPoint slides]. LMS system@DU. URL.

Example

Mack, R., & Spake, G. (2018). Citing open source images and formatting references for presentations [PowerPoint slides]. Blackboard@DU. https://davenport.blackboard.com/webapps/blackboard/execute/content/filecmd=view&mode=designer&content_id=_10469531_1&course_id=_246642_1

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Mack & Spake, 2018)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Mack & Spake (2018),"

Course Pack

The format is the same as a chapter in an edited book, with the instructor having the role of editor.

Original material in a course pack, with author(s)

Smith, G. (2020). Interview skills list. In G. Smith (Ed.), ACES 100: Achieve Career/Education Success (pp. 3-4). Davenport University.

Turner, W., & Beam, V. (2020). High demand skills in today’s workforce. In G. Smith (Ed.), ACES 100: Achieve Career/Education Success (pp. 5-7). Davenport University.

In-Text Examples

  • (Smith, 2020)
  • (Turner & Beam, 2020)

Original material in a course pack, no author

Diagram of the heart. (n.d.). In R. Willis (Ed.), BIOL 115: Anatomy & Physiology with Human Disease I (p. 15). Davenport University.

In-Text Example

  • (“Diagram of the Heart,” n.d.)

Discussion Post

Format

Author Last Name, First Initial. (year). Title of discussion post [Discussion board post]. Davenport University Blackboard. URL

Example

Smith, C. (2023, March 5). Business Ethics [Discussion board post]. Davenport University Blackboard. https://davenport.blackboard.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical citation: (Smith, 2023)

Narrative citation: Smith (2023) stated that ...

 
  • Format a discussion post:

  • Using APA in discussion posts is similar to using APA in a paper. It helps to think of your discussion post as a short APA paper without a cover page.
  • You need to cite your sources in your discussion post, both in-text and in a references section. Your references section will come at the end of your discussion post

Instructor Video

Format

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Date). Title of class video [Video]. Davenport University Blackboard. URL

Example

Smith, C. (2024, March 5). Expectations [Video on class rubric]. Davenport University Blackboard. https://davenport.blackboard.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical citation: (Smith, 2024)

Narrative citation: "... as mentioned by Smith (2024),"

Unusual Databases

Gale Business: Demographics Now

Gale Business: Demographics Now

Format

Name of report: Name of geographic region(s) [Explanatory note]. (date). Gale Business: Demographics Now. Retrieved retrieval date, from URL of database homepage

Example

Business comparison: 48906 Lansing, 48910 Lansing, 48911 Lansing, 48912 Lansing, 48915 Lansing, 48917 Lansing, 48933 Lansing [Demographic data]. (n.d.). Gale Business: Demographics Now. Retrieved June 2, 2020, from https://www.gale.com/c/business-demographicsnow

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (“Business Comparison,” n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Business Comparison (n.d.),"

Gale Business: Insights

Gale Business: Insights

Company Profile

Format

Name of Company [Company profile]. (date). Business Insights: Global. Retrieved retrieval date, from URL of database homepage

Example

General Motors Company [Company profile]. (n.d.). Business Insights Global. Retrieved June 2, 2020, from https://www.gale.com/c/business-insights-global

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (“General Motors Company,” n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by General Motors Company (n.d.),"

Comparison Chart

Format

Name of chart: List of companies, countries, or industries [Comparison chart]. (date). Business Insights Global. Retrieved retrieval date, from URL of database homepage

Example

Revenue by company: General Motors Company and Ford Motor Company [Comparison chart]. (n.d.). Business Insights Global. Retrieved June 2, 2020, from https://www.gale.com/c/business-insights-global

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (“Revenue by Company,” n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Revenue by Company (n.d.),"

Gale In Context Databases

Gale In Context Databases - Topic Overview

Format

No Author Given

Name of topic [Topic overview]. (Publication Year). Name of Database. URL of database homepage

Author Given

Author’s last name, First initial(s). (Publication Year). Name of topic [Topic overview]. Name of Database. URL of database homepage

Examples

Cyberbullying [Topic overview]. (2020). Gale In Context: Global Issues. https://www.gale.com/c/in-context-global-issues

Lerner, K. L. (2019). Designer babies [Topic overview]. Gale In Context: Science. https://www.gale.com/c/in-context-science

In-Text Examples

Parenthetical: (Cyberbullying, 2020) or (Lerner, 2019)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Cyberbullying (2020)," or "... as mentioned by Lerner (2019),"

IBISWorld

IBISWorld

Format

Report Author. (date). Report title (Report number). IBISWorld. URL of database homepage

Example

Fernandez, C. (2020, March). Paint manufacturing in the US (US Industry Report 32551). IBISWorld. https://my.ibisworld.com/

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Fernandez, 2020)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Fernandez (2020),"

KBR

KBR

Format

Name of Report [Explanatory note]. (Year of Publication). Dun & Bradstreet Key Business Ratios. URL of database homepage

Example

SIC: 10-metal mining [Industry report]. (2018). Dun & Bradstreet Key Business Ratios. https://www.mergentkbr.com/

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (SIC: 10-Metal Mining, 2018)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by SIC: 10-Metal Mining (2018),"

Mergent Online and Mergent Intellect

Mergent Online and Mergent Intellect

Format

Name of Company [Company report]. (date). Mergent Online or Mergent Intellect. Retrieved retrieval date, from URL of database homepage.

Example

Steelcase Inc. [Company report]. (n.d.). Mergent Online. Retrieved June 4, 2020, from https://www.mergentonline.com/login.php

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Steelcase Inc., n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Steelcase Inc. (n.d.),"

Mintel

Mintel

Industry Reports

Format

Analyst’s last name, First initial. (Publication date). Title of report [Industry report]. Mintel. URL of database homepage

Example

Failla, J. (2019, July). Coffee – US [Industry report]. Mintel. https://www.mintel.com/

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Failla, 2019)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Failla (2019),"

Data Sets - The Whole Data Book

Format

Mintel. (Publication date). Title of report [Data book]. URL of database homepage

Example

Mintel. (2022, August). Coffee and RTD coffee - US - 2022 [Data book]. https://www.mintel.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Mintel, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Mintel (2022),"

Data Sets - Individual Data Set

Format

Mintel. (Publication date). Title of report (Section of report) [Data set]. URL of database homepage

Example

Mintel. (2022, August). Coffee and RTD coffee - US - 2022 (Interactive databook: Creamer usage demographics) [Data set]. https://www.mintel.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Mintel, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Mintel (2020),"

When creating a citation that requires a page number, use the "Full Report" instead of the individual section pdfs. This will save you the trouble of having to add the section name to the citation.

Morningstar

Morningstar

Whole Report

Format

Morningstar. (Publication Date). Title of report [Explanatory note]. Morningstar Investment Research. Retrieved retrieval date, from url

Example

Morningstar. (2022, February 4). Nike Inc Class B NKE [Equity report]. Morningstar Investment Research. Retrieved February 7, 2022, from https://ar.morningstar.com/mirc/equity/sal.aspx?s=200100C033#Morningstar_Report

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Morningstar, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Morningstar (2022),"

Use the full date, not just the year, because the report is updated throughout the year. The stocks part of the report is updated frequently. Because of those constantly changing updates, you need to include the retrieved from date and URL.

Analyst's Report

Format

Analyst’s last name, First Initial. (Publication Date). Title of report [Explanatory note]. Morningstar Investment Research. Url of database homepage

Example

Swartz, D. (2022, January 4). Wide-moat Nike’s powerful brand and e-commerce position it well despite some short-term issues [Equity analyst report]. Morningstar Investment Research. https://ar.morningstar.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Swartz, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Swartz (2022),"

Because the analyst reports are only included in this database, you need to mention the database. Because the date is fixed, you don't need the date retrieved statement and just the main database URL.

Salem Press E-book

Salem Press E-book

Format

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year of Publication). Entry title. In Editor’s First Intital(s). Last Name(s) (Ed.), E-book title. Publisher Name.

Example

Issitt, M. L. (2016). 3-D printing. In D. Franceschetti (Ed.), Principles of Computer Science. Salem Press.

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Issitt, 2016)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Issitt (2016),"

Sport Market Analytics

Sport Market Analytics

Data or Table

Format

Author. (Date). Title [Data or Table]. Sports Market Analytics. Retrieved Retrieval date from URL of database homepage

Example

National Sporting Goods Association. (n.d.). Youth sports: Ages 7-17 as % of participants, by sport [Data]. Sports Market Analytics. Retrieved August 12, 2020 from https://www.sportsmarketanalytics.com/home.aspx

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (National Sporting Goods Association, n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by the National Sporting Goods Association (n.d.),"

Articles or Reports

Format

Title. (Date). Name of Article Series. URL of database homepage

Example

Nike employees march at headquarters for women’s rights. (2019, December 10). SGB Update. https://www.sportsmarketanalytics.com/home.aspx

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Nike Employees, 2019)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Nike Employees (2019),"

Most articles in SMA do not have authors listed. When that happens, the title goes in the Author position.

Statista

Statista

Global Consumer Survey

Format

Statista. (date). Title of survey question: Country, year of survey [Survey question]. https://www.statista.com

Example

Statista. (2022). Attitudes toward food: United States, 2022 – update 3 [Survey question]. https://www.statista.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Statista, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Statista (2022),"

See Journal Articles with DOI if your article includes a doi.

Subjects: APA Help, General Help