Article With URL, Not DOI

Format

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Date). Article title. Publication Title, Volume Number(Issue Number), pages. URL

Example

Akin, D., & Huang, L. M. (2019). Perceptions of college students with disabilities. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 32(1), 21-33. https://www.ahead.org/professional-resources/publications/jped/archived-jped/jped-volume-32

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Akin & Huang, 2019)

Narrative: ".... as mentioned by Akin & Huang (2019),"

Print Article (or Article Without DOI or URL)

In most cases, this will be an article you retrieved from a database that does not have a DOI assigned to it.

Format

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Date). Article title. Publication Title, Volume Number(Issue Number), page numbers.

Example

Peet, L. (2020, February). Faculty textbook affordability survey. Library Journal, 145(2), 10.

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Peet, 2020)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Peet (2020),"

Article with an Article/eLocator Number

Format

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Date). Article title. Publication Title, Volume Number(Issue Number), article or eLocator number. DOI

Example

Goldstein, J. A., & Prasad, V. (2015). Disease specific productivity of American cancer hospitals. PLoS ONE, 10(3), e0121233. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0121233

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Goldstein & Prasad, 2015)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Goldstein & Prasad (2015),"

Gale Business: Demographics Now

Format

Name of report: Name of geographic region(s) [Explanatory note]. (date). Gale Business: Demographics Now. Retrieved retrieval date, from URL of database homepage

Example

Business comparison: 48906 Lansing, 48910 Lansing, 48911 Lansing, 48912 Lansing, 48915 Lansing, 48917 Lansing, 48933 Lansing [Demographic data]. (n.d.). Gale Business: Demographics Now. Retrieved June 2, 2020, from https://www.gale.com/c/business-demographicsnow

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (“Business Comparison,” n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Business Comparison (n.d.),"

Gale Business: Insights

Company Profile

Format

Name of Company [Company profile]. (date). Business Insights: Global. Retrieved retrieval date, from URL of database homepage

Example

General Motors Company [Company profile]. (n.d.). Business Insights Global. Retrieved June 2, 2020, from https://www.gale.com/c/business-insights-global

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (“General Motors Company,” n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by General Motors Company (n.d.),"

Comparison Chart

Format

Name of chart: List of companies, countries, or industries [Comparison chart]. (date). Business Insights Global. Retrieved retrieval date, from URL of database homepage

Example

Revenue by company: General Motors Company and Ford Motor Company [Comparison chart]. (n.d.). Business Insights Global. Retrieved June 2, 2020, from https://www.gale.com/c/business-insights-global

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (“Revenue by Company,” n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Revenue by Company (n.d.),"

Gale In Context Databases - Topic Overview

Format

No Author Given

Name of topic [Topic overview]. (Publication Year). Name of Database. URL of database homepage

Author Given

Author’s last name, First initial(s). (Publication Year). Name of topic [Topic overview]. Name of Database. URL of database homepage

Examples

Cyberbullying [Topic overview]. (2020). Gale In Context: Global Issues. https://www.gale.com/c/in-context-global-issues

Lerner, K. L. (2019). Designer babies [Topic overview]. Gale In Context: Science. https://www.gale.com/c/in-context-science

In-Text Examples

Parenthetical: (Cyberbullying, 2020) or (Lerner, 2019)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Cyberbullying (2020)," or "... as mentioned by Lerner (2019),"

IBISWorld

Format

Report Author. (date). Report title (Report number). IBISWorld. URL of database homepage

Example

Fernandez, C. (2020, March). Paint manufacturing in the US (US Industry Report 32551). IBISWorld. https://my.ibisworld.com/

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Fernandez, 2020)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Fernandez (2020),"

KBR

Format

Name of Report [Explanatory note]. (Year of Publication). Dun & Bradstreet Key Business Ratios. URL of database homepage

Example

SIC: 10-metal mining [Industry report]. (2018). Dun & Bradstreet Key Business Ratios. https://www.mergentkbr.com/

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (SIC: 10-Metal Mining, 2018)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by SIC: 10-Metal Mining (2018),"

Mergent Online and Mergent Intellect

Format

Name of Company [Company report]. (date). Mergent Online or Mergent Intellect. Retrieved retrieval date, from URL of database homepage.

Example

Steelcase Inc. [Company report]. (n.d.). Mergent Online. Retrieved June 4, 2020, from https://www.mergentonline.com/login.php

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Steelcase Inc., n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Steelcase Inc. (n.d.),"

Mintel

Industry Reports

Format

Analyst’s last name, First initial. (Publication date). Title of report [Industry report]. Mintel. URL of database homepage

Example

Failla, J. (2019, July). Coffee – US [Industry report]. Mintel. https://www.mintel.com/

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Failla, 2019)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Failla (2019),"

Data Sets - The Whole Data Book

Format

Mintel. (Publication date). Title of report [Data book]. URL of database homepage

Example

Mintel. (2022, August). Coffee and RTD coffee - US - 2022 [Data book]. https://www.mintel.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Mintel, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Mintel (2022),"

Data Sets - Individual Data Set

Format

Mintel. (Publication date). Title of report (Section of report) [Data set]. URL of database homepage

Example

Mintel. (2022, August). Coffee and RTD coffee - US - 2022 (Interactive databook: Creamer usage demographics) [Data set]. https://www.mintel.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Mintel, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Mintel (2020),"

When creating a citation that requires a page number, use the "Full Report" instead of the individual section pdfs. This will save you the trouble of having to add the section name to the citation.

Morningstar

Whole Report

Format

Morningstar. (Publication Date). Title of report [Explanatory note]. Morningstar Investment Research. Retrieved retrieval date, from url

Example

Morningstar. (2022, February 4). Nike Inc Class B NKE [Equity report]. Morningstar Investment Research. Retrieved February 7, 2022, from https://ar.morningstar.com/mirc/equity/sal.aspx?s=200100C033#Morningstar_Report

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Morningstar, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Morningstar (2022),"

Use the full date, not just the year, because the report is updated throughout the year. The stocks part of the report is updated frequently. Because of those constantly changing updates, you need to include the retrieved from date and URL.

Analyst's Report

Format

Analyst’s last name, First Initial. (Publication Date). Title of report [Explanatory note]. Morningstar Investment Research. Url of database homepage

Example

Swartz, D. (2022, January 4). Wide-moat Nike’s powerful brand and e-commerce position it well despite some short-term issues [Equity analyst report]. Morningstar Investment Research. https://ar.morningstar.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Swartz, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Swartz (2022),"

Because the analyst reports are only included in this database, you need to mention the database. Because the date is fixed, you don't need the date retrieved statement and just the main database URL.

Salem Press E-book

Format

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year of Publication). Entry title. In Editor’s First Intital(s). Last Name(s) (Ed.), E-book title. Publisher Name.

Example

Issitt, M. L. (2016). 3-D printing. In D. Franceschetti (Ed.), Principles of Computer Science. Salem Press.

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Issitt, 2016)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Issitt (2016),"

Sport Market Analytics

Data or Table

Format

Author. (Date). Title [Data or Table]. Sports Market Analytics. Retrieved Retrieval date from URL of database homepage

Example

National Sporting Goods Association. (n.d.). Youth sports: Ages 7-17 as % of participants, by sport [Data]. Sports Market Analytics. Retrieved August 12, 2020 from https://www.sportsmarketanalytics.com/home.aspx

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (National Sporting Goods Association, n.d.)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by the National Sporting Goods Association (n.d.),"

Articles or Reports

Format

Title. (Date). Name of Article Series. URL of database homepage

Example

Nike employees march at headquarters for women’s rights. (2019, December 10). SGB Update. https://www.sportsmarketanalytics.com/home.aspx

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Nike Employees, 2019)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Nike Employees (2019),"

Most articles in SMA do not have authors listed. When that happens, the title goes in the Author position.

Statista

Global Consumer Survey

Format

Statista. (date). Title of survey question: Country, year of survey [Survey question]. https://www.statista.com

Example

Statista. (2022). Attitudes toward food: United States, 2022 – update 3 [Survey question]. https://www.statista.com

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Statista, 2022)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Statista (2022),"

Print Newspaper Article

Format

Author’s Last Name, First Initial(s). (Publication Date). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, page numbers.

Example

Samuelson, R. J. (2003, September 22). The creaky job machine. The Detroit News, A44.

In-Text Example

Parenthetical: (Samuelson, 2003)

Narrative: "... as mentioned by Samuelson (2003),"