The American LGBTQ Rights Movement by Kyle Morgan; Meg RodriguezThe American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction is a chronological survey of the LGBTQ fight for equal rights from the turn of the 20th century to the early 21st century. Illustrated with historical photographs, the book beautifully reveals the heroic people and key events that shaped the American LGBTQ rights movement. The book includes personal narratives to capture the lived experience from each era, as well as details of essential organizations, texts, and court cases that defined LGBTQ activism and advocacy.
ISBN: 9781947112445
Publication Date: 2020
Everyday Violence by Simone KolyshEveryday Violence is based on ten years of scholarly rage against catcalling and aggression directed at women and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) people of New York City. Simone Kolysh recasts public harassment as everyday violence and demands an immediate end to this pervasive social problem. Analyzing interviews with initiators and recipients of everyday violence through an intersectional lens, Kolysh argues that gender and sexuality, shaped by race, class, and space, are violent processes that are reproduced through these interactions in the public sphere.
ISBN: 9781978823990
Publication Date: 2021
Fighting with Pride by Craig Jones (Editor)This book provides twelve accounts of members of our Armed Forces who have lived remarkable lives. In some cases they were dismissed in disgrace or forced to resign when asked questions about their love, because their answers did not stand the test. Their stories are those of remarkable sacrifice and courage in their units (and in battle) for services that removed them at the stroke of a pen 'services no longer required' or 'dismissed in disgrace' or forced them to live in secret.
ISBN: 9781526765253
Publication Date: 2020
Gender and Lgbtq Issues in Election Processes by Paulina Barczyszyn; Przemysaw ZukiewiczThis book looks at issues on Gender and LGBTQ matters in political elections in both institutional and communication contexts. Examining wins and losses in elections and assessing accountabilities in those results this broad and international collection analyses how the issue of gender and LGBTQ identity is both factored into, and determines electoral success, not only in consolidated democracies such as the United States, New Zealand, and Norway, but also in a country facing an undemocratic turn such as Poland.
ISBN: 9781032069012
Publication Date: 2022
Growing up LGBTQ by Duchess Harris; Rebecca RowellGrowing Up LGBTQ explores what life is like for adolescents in the LGBTQ community, including topics like coming out, bullying and discrimination in school, and mental health. It also examines the creation of community and found family for LGBTQ people. Features include a glossary, further readings, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
ISBN: 9781532119040
Publication Date: 2019
Pocket Guide for Understanding LGBTQ Mental Health by Petros Levounis (Editor); Eric Yarbrough (Editor)The Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities. In recent years, people have begun to grapple with these issues in a healthier, more public way, and mental health practitioners must be prepared to meet their patients with the knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the context in which patients live their lives.
Streetwalking by Ana-Maurine LaraStreetwalking: LGBTQ Lives and Protest in the Dominican Republic is an exploration of the ways that lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer persons exercise power in a Catholic Hispanic heteropatriarchal nation-state, namely the Dominican Republic. Lara presents the specific strategies employed by LGBTQ community leaders in the Dominican Republic in their struggle for subjectivity, recognition, and rights. Drawing on ethnographic encounters, film and video, and interviews, LGBTQ community leaders teach readers about streetwalking, confrontación, flipping the script, cuentos, and the use of strategic universalisms in the exercise of power and agency. Rooted in Maria Lugones's theorization of streetwalker strategies and Audre Lorde's theorization of silence and action, this text re-imagines the exercise and locus of power in examples provided by the living, thriving LGBTQ community of the Dominican Republic.
ISBN: 9781978816497
Publication Date: 2020
Teaching the Teacher by Cathy Brant; Lara WilloxTeacher educators have opportunities to include issues of multicultural education, equity, and social justice in the work done with preservice teachers. Including the educational and societal experiences of historically marginalized populations in curriculum creates spaces for teacher educators to model multicultural and social justice based pedagogies, while preparing teachers to work with and work for these students.
ISBN: 9781641138307
Publication Date: 2020
Transgender Health Issues by Sarah BoslaughAlthough transgender individuals have always existed, their fight for acceptance and equal rights is just beginning. Within this larger context, one area of emerging concern is their health--physical, psychological, and social. From legislation determining public restroom access to insurance coverage of hormone therapy for transitioning individuals to harassment and discrimination, transgender people face a number of challenges that can negatively affect their well-being.
Transgender MichiganTransgender Michigan’s primary mission is to provide advocacy, support and education while serving to create coalitions in the state of Michigan to unify and empower transgender and gender non-conformist communities.
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement by
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction is a chronological survey of the LGBTQ fight for equal rights from the turn of the 20th century to the early 21st century. Illustrated with historical photographs, the book beautifully reveals the heroic people and key events that shaped the American LGBTQ rights movement. The book includes personal narratives to capture the lived experience from each era, as well as details of essential organizations, texts, and court cases that defined LGBTQ activism and advocacy.
ISBN: 9781947112445Publication Date: 2020
Everyday Violence by
Everyday Violence is based on ten years of scholarly rage against catcalling and aggression directed at women and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) people of New York City. Simone Kolysh recasts public harassment as everyday violence and demands an immediate end to this pervasive social problem. Analyzing interviews with initiators and recipients of everyday violence through an intersectional lens, Kolysh argues that gender and sexuality, shaped by race, class, and space, are violent processes that are reproduced through these interactions in the public sphere.
ISBN: 9781978823990Publication Date: 2021
Fighting with Pride by
This book provides twelve accounts of members of our Armed Forces who have lived remarkable lives. In some cases they were dismissed in disgrace or forced to resign when asked questions about their love, because their answers did not stand the test. Their stories are those of remarkable sacrifice and courage in their units (and in battle) for services that removed them at the stroke of a pen 'services no longer required' or 'dismissed in disgrace' or forced them to live in secret.
ISBN: 9781526765253Publication Date: 2020
Gender and Lgbtq Issues in Election Processes by
This book looks at issues on Gender and LGBTQ matters in political elections in both institutional and communication contexts. Examining wins and losses in elections and assessing accountabilities in those results this broad and international collection analyses how the issue of gender and LGBTQ identity is both factored into, and determines electoral success, not only in consolidated democracies such as the United States, New Zealand, and Norway, but also in a country facing an undemocratic turn such as Poland.
ISBN: 9781032069012Publication Date: 2022
Growing up LGBTQ by
Growing Up LGBTQ explores what life is like for adolescents in the LGBTQ community, including topics like coming out, bullying and discrimination in school, and mental health. It also examines the creation of community and found family for LGBTQ people. Features include a glossary, further readings, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
ISBN: 9781532119040Publication Date: 2019
Pocket Guide for Understanding LGBTQ Mental Health by
The Pocket Guide to LGBTQ Mental Health is a down-to-earth, informative, and affirming manual for mental health clinicians working with patients of diverse gender and sexual identities. In recent years, people have begun to grapple with these issues in a healthier, more public way, and mental health practitioners must be prepared to meet their patients with the knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the context in which patients live their lives.
ISBN: 9781615372751Publication Date: 2020
Queer Heroes : Meet 53 LGBTQ Heroes From Past and Present! by ISBN: 9780711241817Publication Date: 2019
Streetwalking by
Streetwalking: LGBTQ Lives and Protest in the Dominican Republic is an exploration of the ways that lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer persons exercise power in a Catholic Hispanic heteropatriarchal nation-state, namely the Dominican Republic. Lara presents the specific strategies employed by LGBTQ community leaders in the Dominican Republic in their struggle for subjectivity, recognition, and rights. Drawing on ethnographic encounters, film and video, and interviews, LGBTQ community leaders teach readers about streetwalking, confrontación, flipping the script, cuentos, and the use of strategic universalisms in the exercise of power and agency. Rooted in Maria Lugones's theorization of streetwalker strategies and Audre Lorde's theorization of silence and action, this text re-imagines the exercise and locus of power in examples provided by the living, thriving LGBTQ community of the Dominican Republic.
ISBN: 9781978816497Publication Date: 2020
Teaching the Teacher by
Teacher educators have opportunities to include issues of multicultural education, equity, and social justice in the work done with preservice teachers. Including the educational and societal experiences of historically marginalized populations in curriculum creates spaces for teacher educators to model multicultural and social justice based pedagogies, while preparing teachers to work with and work for these students.
ISBN: 9781641138307Publication Date: 2020
Transgender Health Issues by
Although transgender individuals have always existed, their fight for acceptance and equal rights is just beginning. Within this larger context, one area of emerging concern is their health--physical, psychological, and social. From legislation determining public restroom access to insurance coverage of hormone therapy for transitioning individuals to harassment and discrimination, transgender people face a number of challenges that can negatively affect their well-being.
ISBN: 9781440858888Publication Date: 2018
