Learning Disabilities
Text-to-Speech Tools
Featured books
Dyslexia by
This book includes a variety of perspectives on dyslexia from different contexts. Chapters provide examples of empirical research; the outcomes of which have the potential to improve the experiences of individuals with dyslexia. The book emphasises the importance of adopting a capability rather than a deficit approach.
ISBN: 9781838819675Publication Date: 2021
Dyslexia and Accessibility in the Modern Era by
Dyslexia and Accessibility in the Modern Era: Emerging Research and Opportunities provides emerging research on a literacy portal that offers the virtual background for the support and strengthening of reading skills and for leading the user while using the internet. The book also creates a tool based on user feedback with instructions on how to adapt current tools to meet the accessibility requirements for people with dyslexia. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as e-learning, lifelong learning, and neurodevelopment disabilities, this book is ideally designed for teachers, software developers, academics, researchers, students, and learning professionals.
ISBN: 9781799842675Publication Date: 2020
Learning Challenges for Culturally and Linguistically Diverse (CLD) Students with Disabilities by
When children with learning challenges are identified, the educational community in the United States diligently applies a well-established model of remediation that has, for the most part, yielded positive results. Research, however, has demonstrated that the American perception of disability may vary from those in Eastern cultures. These cultural differences can play a significant role in the failure to achieve learning success on behalf of children from the Middle East, North Africa, and Southwest Asian (MENASWA) families. It is critical for the school community to recognize and acknowledge these differences and bring them into alignment in order to meet these students' learning needs. Learning Challenges for Culturally and Linguistically Diverse (CLD) Students With Disabilities is an essential reference publication that identifies ways in which CLD families can be involved with schools to help build educators' cultural competence and explores the idea of disabilities as a social model with a focus on strengths rather than a medical model focused on needs and weaknesses. Featuring coverage on a wide range of topics including racial identity, leadership wisdom, and family-school collaboration, this book is ideally designed for educators, principals, administrators, curriculum developers, instructional designers, policymakers, advocates, researchers, academicians, and students.
ISBN: 9781799820697Publication Date: 2020
Learning Disabilities: Neurological Bases, Clinical Features and Strategies of Intervention by
This book explores the epidemiology, neurobiological bases, and diagnostic tools necessary for a comprehensive assessment of children with learning disabilities. It also presents examples of children with specific learning disabilities and explains possible intervention strategies.
ISBN: 9781838808396Publication Date: 2020
Learning Disabilities Sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about various learning disabilities, with facts about diagnosis, instructional approaches, legal and financial issues, and with coping tips. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
ISBN: 9780780812598Publication Date: 2012
The Next Big Thing in Learning and Behavioral Disabilities by
Responding to the need for educational stakeholders to be equipped to plan for constantly evolving developments in policy and practice for learners with learning and behavioral disabilities, this edited collection collates contributions from authors who predict what the next big things in the field will be, and offer recommendations on how to prepare for the future they envision.
ISBN: 9781800717503Publication Date: 2021
Personalisation in Practice by
This book demonstrates very clearly how the personalisation of support and services works in practice. The authors describe how Jennie, a young person with autism and learning difficulties, was supported through the transition from school to living independently using simple, evidence-based person-centred planning tools. Jennie's story illustrates the importance of quality person-centred reviews, dispels the many myths surrounding Individual Service Funds and personal budgets and demonstrates how families, schools and other agencies can work collaboratively to help young people with disabilities move into adulthood with more choice and control over their lives, and with better life prospects. Practical pointers for readers to apply to their own circumstances are included, and the book contains helpful examples of the key person-centred thinking tools. Anyone involved in supporting children and young people with disabilities as they approach adulthood, including parents and carers, SENCOs, teachers, social workers and service providers, will find this to be essential reading. More generally, it will be an informative resource for those seeking a better understanding of how personalisation and person-centred planning work in practice.
ISBN: 9780857008169Publication Date: 2013
Special Education Transition Services for Students with Disabilities by
While services for students with disabilities have been vastly improved in recent years, and research has created far greater awareness for the issues they face, there are still many obstacles to overcome as these students progress through the education system. This book discusses the considerable challenges these students conquer in education, varying relationships with teachers and academics, learning resources, and everyday social situations.
ISBN: 9781838679781Publication Date: 2019
Supporting Individuals with Learning Disabilities by
If you are new to working with a particular client group or in a new role, you can use the material to quickly develop knowledge you will need, and where appropriate, work towards a relevant qualification.If you are a more experienced worker, you can use the guide to refresh your learning, and to contribute towards your continuing professional development.If you are a manager, you can use the guide to meet your responsibilities for providing induction and staff supervision, and opportunities for training and development and continuing professional development. This will contribute towards meeting Care Quality Commission (CQC) standards.This guide also provides underpinning knowledge for Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) unit LD201 Understand the Context of Supporting Individuals with Learning Disabilities.
ISBN: 9781909810938Publication Date: 2014
Other Web Resources
- National Center for Learning DisabilitiesThis website’s goal is to promote public awareness and understanding of children and
adults with learning disabilities.