Accessibility and Diversity in the 21st Century University by Gary A. Berg (Editor); Linda Venis (Editor)Accessibility and Diversity in the 21st Century University is a pivotal reference source that provides vital research on the provision of higher educational access to a more diverse population with a specific focus on the growing population of women in the university, key intersections with race and sexual preference, and the experiences of low-income students, mid-career and reentry students, and special needs populations. While highlighting topics such as adult learning, race-based achievement gaps, and women's studies, this publication is ideally designed for educators, higher education faculty, deans, provosts, chancellors, policymakers, sociologists, anthropologists, researchers, scholars, and students seeking current research on modern advancements of diversity in higher education systems.
ISBN: 9781799827832
Publication Date: 2020
The Campus Color Line: College Presidents and the Struggle for Black Freedom by Eddie R. ColeSome of America's most pressing civil rights issues--desegregation, equal educational and employment opportunities, housing discrimination, and free speech--have been closely intertwined with higher education institutions. Although it is commonly known that college students and other activists, as well as politicians, actively participated in the fight for and against civil rights in the middle decades of the twentieth century, historical accounts have not adequately focused on the roles that the nation's college presidents played in the debates concerning racism. Based on archival research conducted at a range of colleges and universities across the United States, The Campus Color Line sheds light on the important place of college presidents in the struggle for racial parity. Focusing on the period between 1948 and 1968, Eddie Cole shows how college presidents, during a time of violence and unrest, strategically, yet often silently, initiated and shaped racial policies and practices inside and outside of the educational sphere. With courage and hope, as well as malice and cruelty, college presidents positioned themselves--sometimes precariously--amid conflicting interests and demands.
ISBN: 9780691206745
Publication Date: 2020
College Curriculum at the Crossroads by Kirsten T. Edwards (Editor); Maria del Guadalupe Davidson (Editor)This text challenges the canon of curriculum development which foregrounds the experiences of white people, men and other dominant subject positions. By drawing on Black, Latina, Queer, and Transnational feminism, the text disrupts hegemonic curricular practices in post-secondary education. This collection is relevant to current conversation within higher education, which looks to curriculum to aid in the development of a more tolerant and just citizenry. Women of color have long theorized the failures of injustice and the promise of inclusion; as such, this text rightly positions women of color as true "experts in the field."
ISBN: 9781138720992
Publication Date: 2017
Disability and Equity in Higher Education Accessibility by Henry C. Alphin (Editor); Jennie Lavine (Editor); Roy Y. Chan (Editor)Disability and Equity in Higher Education Accessibility is a comprehensive reference source for the latest scholarly material on emerging methods and trends in disseminating knowledge in higher education, despite traditional hindrances. Featuring extensive coverage on relevant topics such as higher education policies, electronic resources, and inclusion barriers, this publication is ideally designed for educators, academics, students, and researchers interested in expanding their knowledge of disability-inclusive global education.
ISBN: 9781522526650
Publication Date: 2018
Issues in Latino Education by Mariella Espinoza-Herold; Ricardo González-CarriedoThrough the testimonies of students who struggled to graduate from high school, issues that are often oversimplified and commonly misunderstood are brought to life. The students themselves offer pragmatic solutions to reduce the unchanging academic gap among culturally diverse groups. Their accounts are then compared with the viewpoints of a range of K-12 teachers on matters of community, learning, race, culture, and school politics. Examining in depth the question of how to best educate a growing culturally and linguistically diverse student population, this critical case study provides food for thought and provokes reflection on the critical role that human interactions and networking play in attaining one's dreams and human aspirations.
ISBN: 9781138228528
Publication Date: 2017
Promoting Ethnic Diversity and Multiculturalism in Higher Education by Barbara Blummer (Editor); Jeffrey M. Kenton (Editor); Michael Wiatrowski (Editor)Promoting Ethnic Diversity and Multiculturalism in Higher Education is an essential scholarly publication that examines the interaction between culture and learning in academic environments and the efforts to mediate it through various educational venues. Featuring coverage on a wide range of topics including intercultural competence, microaggressions, and student diversity, this book is geared towards educators, professionals, school administrators, researchers, and practitioners in the field of education.
ISBN: 9781522540977
Publication Date: 2018
Using Narratives and Storytelling to Promote Cultural Diversity on College Campuses by T. Scott Bledsoe; Kimberly A. SetterlundUsing Narratives and Storytelling to Promote Cultural Diversity on College Campuses is an essential research publication that offers a framework for identifying culture-based narratives. The book follows five college students through a vast array of divergent experiences and provides a comprehensive dialogue about diversity through personal narratives of college faculty, students, staff, and administrators. Highlighting a range of topics including microaggressions, ethnicity, and psychosocial development, this book is ideal for academicians, practitioners, psychologists, sociologists, education professionals, counselors, social work educators, researchers, and students.
Accessibility and Diversity in the 21st Century University by
Accessibility and Diversity in the 21st Century University is a pivotal reference source that provides vital research on the provision of higher educational access to a more diverse population with a specific focus on the growing population of women in the university, key intersections with race and sexual preference, and the experiences of low-income students, mid-career and reentry students, and special needs populations. While highlighting topics such as adult learning, race-based achievement gaps, and women's studies, this publication is ideally designed for educators, higher education faculty, deans, provosts, chancellors, policymakers, sociologists, anthropologists, researchers, scholars, and students seeking current research on modern advancements of diversity in higher education systems.
ISBN: 9781799827832Publication Date: 2020
The Campus Color Line: College Presidents and the Struggle for Black Freedom by
Some of America's most pressing civil rights issues--desegregation, equal educational and employment opportunities, housing discrimination, and free speech--have been closely intertwined with higher education institutions. Although it is commonly known that college students and other activists, as well as politicians, actively participated in the fight for and against civil rights in the middle decades of the twentieth century, historical accounts have not adequately focused on the roles that the nation's college presidents played in the debates concerning racism. Based on archival research conducted at a range of colleges and universities across the United States, The Campus Color Line sheds light on the important place of college presidents in the struggle for racial parity. Focusing on the period between 1948 and 1968, Eddie Cole shows how college presidents, during a time of violence and unrest, strategically, yet often silently, initiated and shaped racial policies and practices inside and outside of the educational sphere. With courage and hope, as well as malice and cruelty, college presidents positioned themselves--sometimes precariously--amid conflicting interests and demands.
ISBN: 9780691206745Publication Date: 2020
College Curriculum at the Crossroads by
This text challenges the canon of curriculum development which foregrounds the experiences of white people, men and other dominant subject positions. By drawing on Black, Latina, Queer, and Transnational feminism, the text disrupts hegemonic curricular practices in post-secondary education. This collection is relevant to current conversation within higher education, which looks to curriculum to aid in the development of a more tolerant and just citizenry. Women of color have long theorized the failures of injustice and the promise of inclusion; as such, this text rightly positions women of color as true "experts in the field."
ISBN: 9781138720992Publication Date: 2017
Disability and Equity in Higher Education Accessibility by
Disability and Equity in Higher Education Accessibility is a comprehensive reference source for the latest scholarly material on emerging methods and trends in disseminating knowledge in higher education, despite traditional hindrances. Featuring extensive coverage on relevant topics such as higher education policies, electronic resources, and inclusion barriers, this publication is ideally designed for educators, academics, students, and researchers interested in expanding their knowledge of disability-inclusive global education.
ISBN: 9781522526650Publication Date: 2018
Issues in Latino Education by
Through the testimonies of students who struggled to graduate from high school, issues that are often oversimplified and commonly misunderstood are brought to life. The students themselves offer pragmatic solutions to reduce the unchanging academic gap among culturally diverse groups. Their accounts are then compared with the viewpoints of a range of K-12 teachers on matters of community, learning, race, culture, and school politics. Examining in depth the question of how to best educate a growing culturally and linguistically diverse student population, this critical case study provides food for thought and provokes reflection on the critical role that human interactions and networking play in attaining one's dreams and human aspirations.
ISBN: 9781138228528Publication Date: 2017
Promoting Ethnic Diversity and Multiculturalism in Higher Education by
Promoting Ethnic Diversity and Multiculturalism in Higher Education is an essential scholarly publication that examines the interaction between culture and learning in academic environments and the efforts to mediate it through various educational venues. Featuring coverage on a wide range of topics including intercultural competence, microaggressions, and student diversity, this book is geared towards educators, professionals, school administrators, researchers, and practitioners in the field of education.
ISBN: 9781522540977Publication Date: 2018
Using Narratives and Storytelling to Promote Cultural Diversity on College Campuses by
Using Narratives and Storytelling to Promote Cultural Diversity on College Campuses is an essential research publication that offers a framework for identifying culture-based narratives. The book follows five college students through a vast array of divergent experiences and provides a comprehensive dialogue about diversity through personal narratives of college faculty, students, staff, and administrators. Highlighting a range of topics including microaggressions, ethnicity, and psychosocial development, this book is ideal for academicians, practitioners, psychologists, sociologists, education professionals, counselors, social work educators, researchers, and students.
ISBN: 9781799840695Publication Date: 2020
