Skip to main content

Library DIY

Search tips

General Tips:

  • Quotation marks: search for an exact phrase to narrow results.
    Example: A search for [medical error] without quotations retrieves results with those two words anywhere in the document. ["Medical error"] finds results only for that exact phrase.
  • Asterisk(*): searches for all endings to a word.
    Example: [mexic*] searches for Mexico, Mexican, and Mexicans

Database Search Tips:

Too Many Results:

  • Start Small: begin with just one or a few search terms. Add additional terms if you have too many results.
  • Use Good Search Terms: use terms that are more specific. Do not use OR between terms that mean different things (for example: women OR salary).
  • Too Few Search Terms: if you only have one general term in the search box, consider another word that expresses what about that term you are interested in.
  • Use Limiters: limiters such as date and format gives you more targeted results.
  • Topic is too Broad: narrow the score of your search. Think about the different aspects of your topic you will address and search for them separately. Then synthesize the information. You may need to narrow your topic if it is too large to cover in a short paper.

Too Few Results:

  • Is this the best database for your topic: if you are using a subject-specific database (business, health, etc.), try a multidisciplinary database like Proquest-all databases or a specialized search engine like Google Scholar. Be prepared to try several different databases. If you need a subject-specific database, try using the Library Guides.
  • Use good search terms: check spelling, and brainstorm synonyms or related terms. You can use OR between synonyms (for example salary OR pay OR compensation).
  • Too many search terms: if you have three or more search terms, try removing one to see if your results improve.
  • Too many limiters: use only limiters that are absolutely necessary.
  • Your topic is too narrow: what is the broader theme of your topic? Break your topic down and search for different parts separately. Then synthesize the information you find.

Library Catalog Search Tips:

  • Looking for books or print journals: search the library catalog.
  • Can you use a limiter to focus your results: use the limiters on the right side of the search results page to limit by print book collection, e-Books or Location.

Web Search Tips:

Keep it Simple: start by typing the name of a relevant thing, place or concept.

  • puppy training tips
  • London dinner cruise

Add Relevant Words: if you don't see what you want after doing a simple search.

  • First try: puppy
  • More precise: puppy training
  • Even more precise: dalmatian puppy training class

It may take several attempts to find the right words to describe your search.

Try words that a website would use to describe what you looking for.

  • Not ideal: my head hurts
  • Not ideal: why is my head killing me
  • Better: headache

Use only the important words. Too many words will limit your results.

  • Not ideal: country where bats are an omen of good luck
  • Better: bats and  "good luck"

Source: Google Basic Search Help

More web search help: Google Tips & Tricks