Ask Julie for Help
Environmental Science
Library Search Box
Search All
You are searching books, e-books, articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals, DVDs, market research reports, and selected Web resources.
Search Articles
You are searching articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and scholarly journals.
Search Books
You are searching books and e-books.
E-Journal List
Click on subject heading for a list of journals that deal with Environmental Science. Next to each journal title is a list of databases you can find those journals in full-text, and the years we have full-text access to.
Databases
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of human impact on the environment.
- Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of subjects from science, technology, and medicine to the humanities.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Discusses opposing viewpoints on current social issues.
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Discusses current global issues from international sources.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles in business, management, accounting, computer science, health, and social sciences.
Davenport has a pay-by-article subscription, allowing you to select just the articles you want Davenport to purchase for your research. There is an average delay of 1-4 business days on delivery of the article to you, though sometimes it can take longer.
- Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new windowFocuses on various aspects of significant science topics.
- Science Reference Source (Explora) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals, books, biographies, essays, more than 1,850 science videos from top educational publishers including Boclips, Media4Math and Nature Picture Library and thousands of high-quality science images from UPI, Getty, NASA and Nature Picture Library.
Featured Books
The Age of Sustainable Development by Call Number: 338.9 Sal43 2015ISBN: 9780231173155Publication Date: 2015Sachs offers readers, students, activists, environmentalists, and policy makers the tools, metrics, and practical pathways they need to achieve Sustainable Development Goals.
Main Currents in Western Environmental Thought by Call Number: 333.7 H322ISBN: 0253340535Publication Date: 2002Topics covered include the roots of environmental philosophy; the development of ecophilosophy, deep ecology, and ecofeminism; how religion relates to environmental values; environmentalists’ writings on science and epistemology; animal liberation; the role of place; the economic dimensions of environmental thought; environmental writing in various political traditions; and "green" writers’ critiques of political movements. The work draws from the disciplines of philosophy, political science, psychology, sociology, and cultural studies.
Rise of the U. S. Environmental Health Movement by Call Number: 613.1 D287 2013ISBN: 9781442221376Publication Date: 2013A comprehensive examination of the environmental health movement, which unlike many parts of the environmental movement, focuses on ways toxic chemicals and other hazardous agents in the environment effect human health and well-being.
The Upcycle by Call Number: 363.7 M147 2013ISBN: 9780865477483Publication Date: 2013In this follow-up to Cradle to Cradle, the authors draw on the lessons gained from ten years of putting the Cradle to Cradle concept into practice with businesses, governments, and ordinary people and envision the next step in the solution to our ecological crisis: we don't just use or reuse resources with greater effectiveness, we actually improve the world as we live, create, and build.
Websites
- BBC News/Science & EnvironmentThe British Broadcasting Company is a public service broadcaster funded by the licence fee paid by households in the United Kingdom.
- ECOLEXProvides information about environmental law and legislation.
- The Encyclopedia of Earthis an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
- Environmental Protection AgencyEPA was established on December 2, 1970 to consolidate in one agency federal research, monitoring, standard-setting and enforcement activities to ensure environmental protection. EPA works for a cleaner, healthier environment for the American people.
- NASANASA’s Global Climate Change website hosts an extensive collection of global warming resources for media, educators, weathercasters and public speakers. Browse by topic and by media type, including videos, social media shareables, infographics, quizzes and interactives.