Ask Julie for Help
Biology
Library Search Box
Search All
You are searching books, e-books, articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals, DVDs, market research reports, and selected Web resources.
Search Articles
You are searching articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and scholarly journals.
Search Books
You are searching books and e-books.
E-Journal List
Click on each subject heading for a list of journals that deal with health & biological sciences. Next to each journal title is a list of databases you can find those journals in full-text, and the years we have full-text access to.
Databases
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer reviewed journals.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is research-oriented and comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles in business, management, accounting, computer science, health, and social sciences.
Davenport has a pay-by-article subscription, allowing you to select just the articles you want Davenport to purchase for your research. There is an average delay of 1-4 business days on delivery of the article to you, though sometimes it can take longer.
- Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new windowFocuses on various aspects of significant science topics.
- Science Reference Source (Explora) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals, books, biographies, essays, more than 1,850 science videos from top educational publishers including Boclips, Media4Math and Nature Picture Library and thousands of high-quality science images from UPI, Getty, NASA and Nature Picture Library.
- ProQuest Biological Science Database (PQ Central) This link opens in a new window
Over 325 full-text journals with articles on Biological chemistry, Biophysics, Botany, Cytology and histology, Environmental studies, Microbiology, Microscopy, and Zoology
Featured Books
- Cell and Molecular Biology and Imaging of Stem Cells
Heide Schatten - Genetics Disorder Sourcebook
Provides basic consumer health information about disorders caused by gene and chromosome abnormalities and those with genetic and environmental components, along with facts about genetic testing and treatment research.
Websites
- American Society for MicrobiologyASM advances the microbiological sciences in an effort to improve health, environmental, and economic well-being worldwide. Student memberships are available.
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- PBS Evolution LibraryA collection of websites, videos, images, and documents about many different aspects of evolution.
- Protein Data BankThe Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance
- Understanding EvolutionIn depth information on the science of evolution, including a variety of links.