Evidence-Based Research
How to Write a Clinical Research Question Using PICO
What does PICO (or PICOT) mean?
PICOT is a mnemonic derived from the elements of a clinical research question – patient, intervention, comparison, outcome and (sometimes) time.
- 7 Steps to a Perfect PICO SearchClick the link to download. In this white paper (9 pages), we will explore the importance of evidence-based nursing practice, take a deeper dive into the PICO process and provide an example of the PICO process in action through a case scenario using the CINAHL database.
- CINAHL Advanced Search TutorialIn this video, Katharine Holmes demonstrates how to use CINAHL's Advanced Search option. (15:42 minutes)
From the DU Library
How to Write a Literature Review
The format of a literature review is like any other APA paper.
Resources for Developing the "One-Page" Poster
Websites
Research Tips
The databases you will be using are not like Google. Break your question up into smaller keywords and use the Advanced Search function when possible to combine your keywords in your search.
Use "evidence-based" as one of the keywords to search for articles that have "evidence-based" in the abstract. This will usually indicate that the article is about an evidence-based practice topic.
Brainstorm keywords before you begin searching, and as you search. Your search strategies may change as you get to know the database and the terms and subject headings it uses for specific topics.
- CINAHL Ultimate
Nursing and allied health articles with more than 50 nursing specialties. Includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
- Gale OneFile: Health And MedicineFocuses on nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
- MedlinePlus
Consumer/patient-oriented, high-quality, relevant, and understandable health and wellness information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Ovid Nursing Database - Abstracting & Medline & Ovid Nursing Full-Text Plus
Contains links to full-text when available from over 400 nursing journals with coverage dates as far back as 1995.
- ProQuest Health & Medical Collection (PQ Central)Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines.
