What are Industry Reports?
Industry reports or profiles include trends and outlooks, industry performance and financials, forecasts, and lists of major companies. The reports will generally focus on major industries at the country or global level. Industry reports are useful when you need an overview of an industry.
Key insights include:
- Current conditions and history
- Products & Markets
- Competition
- Opportunities and threats
- Key companies in the industry
- Financial Information
Industry reports and profiles can be found in many library databases.
- Not all industries are represented in all databases, and the amount of information available in reports or profiles varies depending on the industry and the database.
- For that reason, you will want to search multiple databases for your industry.
- Some databases place their industry profiles front and center. Others require a little digging.
Here is a list of databases you can use to find industry reports and tips on how to find them.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowUse the search box on the IBISWorld homepage to search by industry name, keyword, or NAICS code. You can also browse industries by selecting the Industries drop-down menu at the top of the page and selecting an industry of interest.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new windowClick on the Industries link under the Browse drop-down menu. You can then browse through the industry list or use the search box to find an industry by name or NAICS code. You can also click on MarketLine Industry Profiles or Plunkett Reports to find more industry reports.
- e-books - RKMA Market Research Reports This link opens in a new windowThis series compiles statistics, trends, and data on a variety of consumer industries, including consumers and companies. The reports can be very long, so review the Table of Contents and the 'find' feature in the PDF to find a keyword within the report.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowClick on Reports at the top of the page and select Industry & Market Reports. Use the search box to find industry reports or browse by category under Industry. You can even narrow your selection down by Regions/Countries.
- ProQuest Business Market Research Collection (PQ Central) This link opens in a new windowLimit Document Type to Industry Profile on the Advanced Search page or look up NAICS codes and search by that.
Many library databases include data on international industries but may require a little more digging.
- Look for country filters in the databases.
- If using Advanced Search, add the
phrase AND [Country Name]when searching for articles and reports (i.e.,"coffee shops" AND Italy).
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new windowFrom the Browse drop-down menu on the right side of the page, select MarketLine Industry Profiles and type in a country name in the search box to look at international reports.
- Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry ReportsOnce you are in the Proquest database, click on Browse from the top of the screen, then Industry & Market Research Reports. Select Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports. Then click on Browse by Location to browse reports by country.
This content is adapted from the University Library, University of Phoenix "Find Industry Profiles".
