Research
Health Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health articles with more than 50 nursing specialties. Includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
-
Gale Health And Wellness This link opens in a new window
Provides articles and background resources for drug and health-related topics, and contains a medical encyclopedia and dictionary.
-
Gale OneFile: Health And Medicine This link opens in a new window
Focuses on nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
-
Ovid Nursing Full-Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing articles for researchers and practitioners.
Also includes Medline indexing with links to full-text when available.
-
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection (PQ Central) This link opens in a new window
Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines.
E-books
-
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windowOnline books specifically for health and nursing students.
-
Medical Terminology Open ResourceBuilding a Medical Terminology Foundation is an OER that focuses on breaking down medical terms into their word parts, pronouncing medical terms, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of introductory anatomy and physiology.
Reliable Health Information
The following sites are much more reliable than Wikipedia or WebMD. You'll find information about symptoms, causes, and treatments for most health problems. Use these sites when you are looking for clinical information about diseases and disorders.
-
Medline Plus Health TopicsRead about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 975 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.
-
Merck Manual ProfessionalFind information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more.
Library Search Box
Search All
You are searching books, e-books, articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals, DVDs, market research reports, and selected Web resources.
Search Articles
You are searching articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and scholarly journals.
Search Books
You are searching books and e-books.
Medical Dictionaries
-
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy
Publication Date: 2017-12-19Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!(R), 4th Editionoffers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level -
Concise Colour Medical Dictionary
by
Publication Date: 2020The seventh edition of this dictionary provides full coverage of all the important terms and concepts used in medicine today. Written by a distinguished team of practicing specialists and medical writers, it is intended primarily for workers in the paramedical fields: pharmacists, physiotherapists, speech therapists, social workers, hospital secretaries, administrators, technicians, and so on. It will also be invaluable for medical students and provides a useful reference for practicing doctors. -
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 5th ed.
2023 - Contains 1280 entries which include sidebars defining Key Terms and listing "Questions to Ask Your Provider" and over 625 color images and illustrations, a medical glossary, an appendix of pertinent organizations, and an index. -
Mosby's Medical Dictionary
Publication Date: 2017Publication date: 2017 - Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. -
Mosby's Pocket Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions
Publication Date: 2023What does that term mean? How is it even pronounced? Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's® Pocket Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 9th Edition. This comprehensive, portable dictionary offers a unique, strong focus on nursing and health science terminology. -
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary: Brings Meanings to Life, 24th ed.
Publication Date: 2021- 75,000+ medical terms—put the language of health care at your fingertips in class, clinical, and practice.
- Full-color illustrations
- Patient Care Statements, Caution/Safety Statements, Disease/Disorder Entries, 2020-21 NANDA-I
- Over 30,000 audio pronunciations
