Becoming culturally competent is a requirement for occupational therapy professionals today, who have opportunities to become leaders as agents for change so that all people, privileged and disadvantaged alike, have equal access to health care, social and political resources, and meaningful occupation. This book provides information, theories, and examples of how this can happen as well as introduces the Cultural Competency Model, which occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants can use to help provide culturally competent care to all clients.

As the occupational therapy profession becomes increasingly evidence based, the valid and reliable evaluation of the client is critical to providing effective interventions. Employers, reimbursers, and evidence-based practice demand increased competence in selecting, administering, and interpreting assessments. The authors reaffirm the importance of understanding the person as an occupational being and focus on how the occupational therapist's understanding of human occupation influences evaluation.

Comprehensive resource and clinical guide for students and practicing pediatric therapists features current information on the neurological foundations of hand skills, the development of hand skills, and intervention with children who have problems related to hand skills. It covers foundation and development of hand skills, therapeutic intervention, and special problems and approaches; integrates recent research findings and current thinking throughout the text; emphasizes neuroscience and the hand's sensory function and haptic perception; applies neuroscience and development frames of reference throughout; and presents concepts in the foundation/development chapters that are linked with the intervention chapters.

Provides a comprehensive overview of hand rehabilitation. Featuring a unique, question and detailed-answer format, Hand Rehabilitation guides the reader from basic information about hand anatomy through complex topics including the most advanced treatment techniques. Each chapter is formatted as a series of multiple-choice questions, complete with detailed answers and references to other hand therapy resources. There are practice questions included at the end of the book with perforated pages for detachment and copying. Also included are "clinical" gems in each chapter, providing the reader with helpful hints and important facts to remember related to certain subjects or questions. Chapters are organized in a building block fashion, beginning with anatomy and progressing to clinical application. Each chapter begins with a bulleted list of key topics. Advanced questions are denoted with an icon located after the answer/explanation, helping readers pinpoint areas requiring further study. Answer explanations include helpful references. Appendices include 1) Hand Enthusiasts Vendor and Website List, 2) Drugs Commonly Encountered in Hand Therapy, 3) Nutrition, 4) Practice Questions (a self-review appendix of 200 questions) and a convenient Quick Reference Guide.

This book includes the basic concepts and principles of splint design, splints acting on the elbow and shoulder; and splinting pediatric patients, workers, musicians, athletes and spastic patients. An expanded alphabetical index of 800 splints provides a photographic key to all splints mentioned in the book.

This book is a landmark publication in occupational therapy and a significant contribution to the rehabilitation theory literature! The Kawa Model presents a conceptual model of practice that differs from contemporary theories in regard to: origin (East Asia), underlying philosophical base (East Asia), being heavily infused with a natural-ecological, holistic world view, and relational structure. The model is based on the metaphor of nature (a river) that stands for the meanings of life. Because of the familiarity of the metaphor, to both therapists and clients alike, the Kawa Model is relatively easy to comprehend, remarkably simple, yet comprehensive and effective. Unlike other models, it arose from clinical practice, by practitioners, through a process of qualitative research methods. It is the first conceptual model and substantial theoretical work of occupational therapy from outside of the Western world and introduces an Eastern perspective on matters of theory and culture in occupational therapy. It includes eight case studies, four from Western practice contexts and four from the East. This book questions the cultural boundaries of occupational therapy, its knowledge (epistemiology), theory and practice. It puts the reader in touch with the cultural nature of self, client and profession. It enables readers to develop critical analysis skills for examining matters of theory and culture, as opposed to learning theory as 'recipes.'

In Kinesiology for Occupational Therapy, Second Edition, Dr. Melinda Rybski presents the theoretical background for understanding the kinematics and kinetics of normal human physiological movement. Each specific joint is assessed in terms of musculoskeletal function, movements possible, and an overview of pathology that may develop. Following these discussions, the book addresses recognition of normal movement, as well as interventions or adaptations for those with movement impairment through theoretic principles associated with biomechanical and rehabilitation frames of reference. Features: Hands-on activities to relate and apply conceptual information to actual case studies. Goal statements and theoretic principles for the frames of reference in discussion. It clearly outlines the need for an understanding of kinesiology in occupational therapy, providing occupational therapists with the evidence necessary to support their treatment strategies.

This renowned classic provides unparalleled coverage of manual muscle testing, plus evaluation and treatment of faulty and painful postural conditions. It has expanded treatment and exercise sections in each chapter. Other features include a new section on post-polio syndrome, additional case studies comparing Guillain-Barré to polio muscle tests, a new full-color design, and a first-of-its-kind chart of upper extremity articulations.

Ever since the occupational therapy profession emerged in the 1910s, it has had to explain itself to the world of medicine and to the public. The word therapy seems to have been understood easily; the word occupation has been more troublesome. In the early part of the 20th century, with its new focus on science and medicine, many interpreted it to mean vocational. But to the early occupational therapists it meant more than that. They took a holistic approach to health care, believing that, to achieve good health, a patient had to engage the body, mind, and spirit in the process of healing. For occupational therapists, today's world parallels that of a century ago.

Master the skills and concepts necessary to effectively perform efficient evaluations of children with this book. Reflecting the latest AOTA standards, this pocket-sized guide is a quick, comprehensive reference you can use throughout your education and into practice. Providing an overview of theory as well as step-by-step coverage of techniques, the book includes clinical examples that illustrate the application of content, as well as client and family-centered practice; illustrations that demonstrate assessment techniques; and extensive tables that summarize key assessments, techniques, and actions.

Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 7th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage with photos and illustrations of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on evidence-based practice includes updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions. It covers new research and theories, new techniques, and current trends, additional case studies, research Notes boxes and evidence-based summary tables to help you interpret evidence and strengthen your clinical decision-making skills. A glossary makes it easy to look up key terms. Some new sections cover Autism Spectrum Disorder, Neuromotor: Cerebral Palsy, and Adolescent Development.

The authors introduce the Occupation Functional Model (OFM) and then guide you through the assessment and treatment of adult patients with physical dysfunction from initial evaluation to treatment to follow-up.

This book has been updated and revised into a comprehensive Second Edition that logically provides a foundation for understanding the bio-physiological effects of physical agents and their impact on an individual's occupational performance and functioning. This second edition provides the occupational therapist and student with a user-friendly and organized reference on the application of physical agent modalities, commonly used by occupational therapists, as well as emerging technologies and interventions such as lasers and electromyographic biofeedback. It also outlines the application procedures for each modality, indications for their use, and the precautions and contraindications of the modality. New graphics and pictures enhance the reader's understanding of the physical agents, while case studies facilitate clinical reasoning and provide a practical resource to safely and effectively understand and use physical agents.

This Third Edition of Quick Reference to Occupational Therapy lists the latest disorder-specific information to have at your fingertips as you assess and treat clients. Contents include: Developmental Disorders, Sensory Disorders, Nervous System Disorders, Cardiopulmonary Disorders, Hand and Wrist Conditions, Injuries, Musculoskeletal Disorders, Systemic Disorders, Immunologic and Infectious Diseases, Skin Disorders, Cognitive-Perceptual Disorders, Mental Disorders, Lifestyle Disorders and single or two-article disorders. For each disorder, the easy-to-use outline format provides: Description, Cause, Assessments used to evaluate, Problems experienced by the client, Treatment and intervention, Precautions to be observed, Prognosis and outcome, and References for further reading.

With the combined expertise of leading hand surgeons and therapists, Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity, 6th Edition, by Drs. Skirven, Osterman, Fedorczyk and Amadio helps you apply the best practices in the rehabilitation of hand, wrist, elbow, arm and shoulder problems, detailing the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of hand and upper extremity disorders.

Using a problem-solving approach based on clinical evidence,this book covers the therapeutic management of people with functional movement limitations and quality of life issues following a neurological event. It reviews basic theory and covers the latest screening and diagnostic tests, new treatments, and interventions commonly used in today's clinical practice. This edition includes the latest advances in neuroscience, adding new chapters on neuroimaging and clinical tools such as virtual reality, robotics, and gaming. Written by respected clinician and physical therapy expert Darcy Umphred, this classic neurology text provides problem-solving strategies that are key to individualized, effective care.