A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that contains articles and information from print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books. A library database is searchable.

Types of material found using library databases are:

• Articles from Journals and Magazines
• Electronic Books
• Newspapers
• Images
• Reference Sources 

Library databases typically provide citation information about the items they index. A citation most often consists of:

• Author
• Title of Article
• Source (Title of Publication)
• Publisher
• Date of Publication

Some library databases provide abstracts of the items they index. Abstracts are summaries provided by the author or database publisher.

Some library databases provide the full text (entire article) of the items they index. Our library has access to a wide range of electronic databases containing citation and full-text articles and other scholarly works on various subjects.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a means of requesting resources not available at the Davenport Library or via our database list, from libraries outside of our system. 

If you are unable to find the article in our databases go to our ILL form and make your request

Here are a few things you need to know before you submit the form:

• Materials are coming from another library, please allow up to ten days for an item to arrive.

• The library cannot guarantee whether a loan will be filled or not.

• We do not request current text books.

• Fill out each of the boxes with complete information to ensure a timely receipt of the materials you need.