Research Assistance
Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health articles with more than 50 nursing specialties. Includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
-
Gale OneFile: Health And Medicine This link opens in a new windowFocuses on nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
-
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Consumer/patient-oriented, high-quality, relevant, and understandable health and wellness information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
-
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection (PQ Central) This link opens in a new windowCovers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines.
Journals
-
CMA TodayThe AAMA’s in-house magazine covers topics such as CEUs, association news, clinical care, professional profiles and office procedures.
-
Health AffairsArticles on healthcare policy, insurance benefits, Medicare, Medicaid, and costs.
-
Journal of Allied HealthIf you want to be on the cutting edge of issues related to allied health, this peer reviewed journal publishes the most current research, abstracts and feature articles.
-
Modern HealthcareThis trade publication covers providers, insurance, government, finance, technology and any other topic that impacts the healthcare industry.
I am looking for peer reviewed articles
A peer reviewed article is one that has been reviewed by other experts or scholars in the field who judge the article for quality and new contributions to the discipline. Peer reviewed articles may also be called scholarly or refereed. The best place to start your search is in a library database.
Strategy #1: Limit your search to only peer reviewed articles
Look for a checkbox, either on the search screen or the results page that limits the search to scholarly, peer reviewed articles only.- Search in a database that only contains scholarly or peer reviewed articles.
Strategy #2: Find out more about the journal your article was published in
- If you are in a database, check to see whether you can click on the journal title for more information about the journal.
- Search Google with the title of the journal to look for an editorial policy page or a page for authors to find out if the journal uses a peer review process.
Library Search Box
Search All
You are searching books, e-books, articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals, DVDs, market research reports, and selected Web resources.
Search Articles
You are searching articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and scholarly journals.
Search Books
You are searching books and e-books.