DU Resources
- Office of Diversity, Equity & InclusionEquipping and supporting faculty, staff and students for inclusive excellence at DU.
Search Tips & Databases
Searching for Implicit Bias
To find materials on implicit bias and related topics, search the DU catalog and databases using these keywords:
| "implicit bias" | "implicit association test" or IAT |
| "unconscious bias" | "implicit racial bias" |
| "hidden bias" | "implicit gender bias" |
| "cognitive bias" | "implicit prejudice" |
| "implicit association" | "bias" (a broader term) |
General Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on any topic.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOffers perspectives on differing sides of controversial issues.
Educational Databases
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Contains news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new windowEducation research and information from the U.S. Department of Education.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides some full text, indexing, and abstracts of education journals, books, and education-related conference papers.
Cultural Databases
- Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Focuses on cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- ProQuest Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses from 1960 to the present.
- ProQuest GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas from 1970 to the present.
Health & Medical Databases
- Gale OneFile: Health And Medicine This link opens in a new windowFocuses on nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowCovers nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Legal Databases
- Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Focuses on all aspects of criminal justice.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window
A legal database that provides the full text for both federal and state: codes, court rules, cases (published and many unpublished), attorney general opinions, regulations, and agency decisions. Also includes KeyCite, a citation checking service.
This database is only available for students enrolled in the paralegal program. They receive OnePass registration information by email from Westlaw. Students who did not receive this information should contact their instructor or Misty Davis (Misty.Davis@davenport.edu). Students having trouble with their OnePass profile should contact Westlaw's 24/7 OnePass support at 1-800-934-9378.
Business Databases
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and articles.
- Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new windowCovers all business disciplines, as well as business theory and practice.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, executive contact information, industry profiles, demographic data, and much more.
