DU E-books
E-books on American History
American Civil War Reference Library by Biographies of 60 people connected with the conflict along with primary sources and a range of historical information and current commentary.
ISBN: 9780787691417Publication Date: 2003
American History in Transition: From Religion to Science by
In American History in Transition, Yoshinari Yamaguchi provides fresh insights into early efforts in American history writing, ranging from Jeremy Belknap's Massachusetts Historical Society to Emma Willard's geographic history and Francis Parkman's history of deep time to Henry Adams's thermodynamic history. Although not a well-organized set of professional researchers, these historians shared the same concern: the problems of temporalization and secularization in history writing. As the time-honored framework of sacred history was gradually outdated, American historians at that time turned to individual facts as possible evidence for a new generalization, and tried different "scientific" theories to give coherency to their writings. History writing was in its transitional phase, shifting from religion to science, deduction to induction, and static to dynamic worldview.
ISBN: 9789004424302Publication Date: 2020
American Revolution by
Profiles of 60 British and American men and women connected with the conflict along with primary sources and a range of historical information and current commentary.
ISBN: 9780787691479Publication Date: 2003Cold War by Biographies, primary sources and analysis of the Cold War between the Western powers and the Communist bloc from the end of World War II to 1989 in a clash between communism and democracy.
ISBN: 9780787691929Publication Date: 2004
Great American Diseases by
Great American Diseases: Their Effects on the Course of North American History presents medical history as it pertains to the major infectious diseases of North America. The book is designed to provide an interesting and engaging introduction to microbiology, immunology and epidemiology. With the advent of COVID-19, this book will serve as a reference on the history of previous epidemics. The book presents pandemics in an easy-to-read volume and provides concise chapters on the history of a disease, progression of understanding on the pathogen (agent of the disease), and their social ramifications through the history of North America.
ISBN: 9780323989251Publication Date: 2022Great Depression and New Deal Reference Library by Biographies, primary sources and exploration of the economic crisis that began with the American stock market crash of 1929 and had dire effects all over the world.
ISBN: 9780787693015Publication Date: 2004
Playing with History: American Identities and Children's Consumer Culture by
Since the advent of the American toy industry, children's cultural products have attempted to teach and sell ideas of American identity. By examining cultural products geared towards teaching children American history, Playing With History highlights the changes and constancies in depictions of the American story and ideals of citizenship over the last one hundred years. This book examines political and ideological messages sold to children throughout the twentieth century, tracing the messages conveyed by racist toy banks, early governmental interventions meant to protect the toy industry, influences and pressures surrounding Cold War stories of the western frontier, the fractures visible in the American story at a mid-century history themed amusement park. The study culminates in a look at the successes and limitations of the American Girl Company empire.
ISBN: 9781978822078Publication Date: 2021
This Land Is Our Land by
A 2017 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction finalist! American attitudes toward immigrants are paradoxical. On the one hand, we see our country as a haven for the poor and oppressed; anyone, no matter his or her background, can find freedom here and achieve the "American Dream." On the other hand, depending on prevailing economic conditions, fluctuating feelings about race and ethnicity, and fear of foreign political and labor agitation, we set boundaries and restrictions on who may come to this country and whether they may stay as citizens. This book explores the way government policy and popular responses to immigrant groups evolved throughout U.S. history, particularly between 1800 and 1965. The book concludes with a summary of events up to contemporary times, as immigration again becomes a hot-button issue. Includes an author's note, bibliography, and index.
ISBN: 9781419716607Publication Date: 2016
E-books on World History
Ancient Civilizations Reference Library Series by
This 3-vol. set compiles wide-ranging essays, biographies, definitions, timeline entries, and more on the ancient civilizations of Iraq, Egypt, India, China, Central America and other regions.
ISBN: 9780787639808Publication Date: 2000
The Crusades Reference Library
The three-volume The Crusades covers everything from the First Crusade (1095-99) through the Ninth Crusade (1271-72). Includes biographies of the key players and primary sources.
ISBN: 9781414404554Publication Date: 2005
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library and Index by
Presents the story of the development of early American civilizations from the earliest known societies to the Spanish conquest---the dates, locations, sites, history, arts and sciences, religions, economies, governments, and eventual declines of the great ancient civilizations.
ISBN: 9780787693954Publication Date: 2004
Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History by
Features more than 830 entries covering key global historical events from a regional perspective. Covering ancient civilizations to the present, important events in history are explored with an emphasis on their significance to overall world history.
ISBN: 9781414491349Publication Date: 2014
The Gulf in World History by
The Gulf sits at an ancient crossroads of cultures and faiths, and at the heart of modern trade stretching back to the origins of civilization. As a site of both conflict and peaceful encounter, it can be studied in the context of world history, as a place of cultural and historical encounter. From medieval astrology to museum architecture, from the trade of glass and pearls to the role of Indians, Africans, Christian monks, Mandaeans and merchants, this book spans historical periods and disciplinary approaches. It is united by one overarching theme: the Gulf as a cosmopolitan nexus and space of encounter. The chapters describe a Gulf simultaneously perched on the edge of empires and at the centre of world events. Presenting new evidence, new theoretical approaches, and new arguments, this volume aims to change understandings of the Gulf in the world.
ISBN: 9781474430654Publication Date: 2018History in Dispute (Series) Offers different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe. Each volume in this series has a thematic, era or subject-specific focus.
ISBN: 9781558627048Publication Date: 2008- present
Islam and the Trajectory of Globalization by
The book examines the growing tension between social movements that embrace egalitarian and inclusivist views of national and global politics, most notably classical liberalism, and those that advance social hierarchy and national exclusivism, such as neoliberalism, neoconservatism, and national populism. In exploring issues relating to tensions and conflicts around globalization, the book identifies historical patterns of convergence and divergence rooted in the monotheistic traditions, beginning with the ancient Israelites that dominated the Near East during the Axial age, through Islamic civilization, and finally by considering the idealism-realism tensions in modern times. One thing remained constant throughout the various historical stages that preceded our current moment of global convergence: a recurring tension between transcendental idealism and various forms of realism. Transcendental idealism, which prioritize egalitarian and universal values, pushed periodically against the forces of realism that privilege established law and power structure. Equipped with the idealism-realism framework, the book examines the consequences of European realism that justified the imperialistic venture into Africa, the Middle East, and Latin America in the name of liberation and liberalization. The ill-conceived strategy has, ironically, engendered the very dysfunctional societies that produce the waves of immigrants in constant motion from the South to the North, simultaneously as it fostered the social hierarchy that transfer external tensions into identity politics within the countries of the North. The book focuses particularly on the role played historically by Islamic rationalism in translating the monotheistic egalitarian outlook into the institutions of religious pluralism, legislative and legal autonomy, and scientific enterprise at the foundation of modern society. It concludes by shedding light on the significance of the Muslim presence in Western cultures as humanity draws slowly but consistently towards what we may come to recognize as the Global Age. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9781003203360, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9781000483536Publication Date: 2021
Middle Ages Reference Library by
Biographies, primary sources and analysis covering the different civilizations and peoples of Medieval times (A.D. 500 to 1500).
ISBN: 9780787693091Publication Date: 2004
World History - a Genealogy by
World History--A Genealogy charts the history of the discipline through twenty-five in-depth conversations with historians whose work has shaped the field of world history in fundamental ways. These conversations, which took place over a period of twenty years for the world history journal Itinerario, cover these historians' lives, work, and views of the academy in general and the field of world history in particular. An extensive introduction distills the most important developments in the field from these conversations, and sheds light on what these historians have in common, as well as--perhaps more importantly--what separates them.
ISBN: 9789400602854Publication Date: 2017
World War I by
Biographies, primary sources and analysis covering major topics, including the roots of the war, causes of U.S. involvement, and the Espionage Act and Sedition Act, weapons of mass destruction; and more.
ISBN: 9780787691813Publication Date: 2003
World War II by
Provides background and information on major topics about the World War II period, biographies of significant men and women involved in the war, and primary sources such as full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original documents.
ISBN: 9780787691868Publication Date: 2004
E-books on Special Topics History
Adland : a Global History of Advertising by
Presents an examination of modern advertising, from its origins in the 19th century. This book examines key developments in advertising, from copy adverts, radio and television, to the opportunities afforded by the explosion of digital media - podcasting, text messaging and interactive campaigns. It focuses on key players in the industry.
ISBN: 9780749452179Publication Date: 2007The African American Years by Discusses the history of African Americans from pre-colonial times to the present. Includes memoirs, letters, family histories, newspapers, oral histories, and city directories, providing historical evidence to help understand and interpret past events.
ISBN: 9780684314297Publication Date: 2003
Born upon the Tide by
The coastline of Ireland, from the rugged fjords of the west to the steely waters of the north, is infused with memories of loss, sadness and beauty. In this work, maritime historian and author Pat Nolan speaks to the fishermen, boatbuilders and sailors whose lives have been shaped by these seas. What emerges is a picture of a way of life that has changed dramatically in recent years, and yet retains a consistency as timeless as the returning tide.
ISBN: 9780750985611Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
ISBN: 9780684315904Publication Date: 2008Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
ISBN: 9780684325545Publication Date: 2019
Michigan by
The fifth edition of Michigan: A History of the Great Lakes State presents a survey of Michigan history, covering the pre-Columbian period to the present. Includes a new chapter 'Reinventing Michigan,' the socio-economic impact of tribal casino gaming on Michigan's Native American population; environmental, agricultural, and educational issues; recent developments in the Jimmy Hoffa mystery, and collegiate and professional sports.
ISBN: 9781118649725Publication Date: 2014
Plotting to Kill the President by
Since the birth of our nation and the election of the first president, groups of organized plotters or individuals have been determined to assassinate the chief executive. From the Founding Fathers to the Great Depression, three presidents have been assassinated: Abraham Lincoln, James Garfield, and William McKinley. However, unknown to the general public, almost all presidents have been threatened, put in danger, or survived "near lethal approaches" during their terms. Plotting to Kill the President reveals the numerous, previously untold incidents when assassins, plotters, and individuals have threatened the lives of American presidents, from George Washington to Herbert Hoover. Ayton also recounts the stories of Secret Service agents and bodyguards from each administration who put their lives in danger to protect the commander in chief.
ISBN: 9781612348568Publication Date: 2017
The Ultimate Samurai Guide by
Part Samurai history, part martial arts guide, this is THE book for anyone interested in Japan's fabled Samurai culture and the history of Bushido. It also surveys the contemporary martial arts scene. Author Alexander Bennett is the ultimate insider--holding multiple black belts in Kendo and Naginata, as well as a Ph.D. in Japanese literature and history.
ISBN: 9784805313756Publication Date: 2018
Violence from Slavery To #blacklivesmatter by
Violence from Slavery to #BlackLivesMatter brings together perspectives on violence and its representation in African American history from slavery to the present moment. Contributors explore how violence, signifying both an instrument of the white majority's power and a modality of black resistance, has been understood and articulated in primary materials that range from slave narrative through "lynching plays" and Richard Wright's fiction to contemporary activist poetry, and from photography of African American suffering through Blaxploitation cinema and Spike Lee's films to rap lyrics and performances. Diverse both in their period coverage and their choice of medium for discussion, the 11 essays are unified by a shared concern to unpack violence's multiple meanings for black America. Underlying the collection, too, is not only the desire to memorialize past moments of black American suffering and resistance, but, in politically timely fashion, to explore their connections to our current conjuncture.
ISBN: 9780367359096Publication Date: 2019
Women Have Always Worked by
A 2nd edition of a classic work, Women Have Always Worked brought much-needed insight into the ways work has shaped female lives and sensibilities. Beginning in the colonial era to the new information society, Alice Kessler-Harris looks at the public and private work spheres of diverse groups of women--housewives and trade unionists, immigrants and African Americans, professionals and menial laborers, and women from across the class spectrum.
ISBN: 9780252083587Publication Date: 2018
