Resources
What Can I Do With a Degree in Health Information Management & Technology?
- Data Analyst
- Software Developer
- Health Information Technician
- Project Manager
- Medical Coder
- Database Administrator
- Quality Assurance Lead
- Security Consultant
- Information Technology (IT) Support Specialist
- Medical Records Technician
On the Web
- HealthIT.govHealth information technology (health IT) makes it possible for health care providers to better manage patient care through secure use and sharing of health information. Health IT includes the use of electronic health records (EHRs) instead of paper medical records to maintain people's health information.
- HIMSSHIMSS is a global, cause-based, not-for-profit organization focused on better health through information technology (IT). HIMSS leads efforts to optimize health engagements and care outcomes using information technology.
- AMIAAMIA aims to lead the way in transforming health care through trusted science, education, and the practice of informatics. AMIA connects a broad community of professionals and students interested in informatics. AMIA is the bridge for knowledge and collaboration across a continuum, from basic and applied research to the consumer and public health arenas.
Health Databases
Use the following databases when you need to find scholarly and peer reviewed research articles.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health articles with more than 50 nursing specialties. Includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
- Gale OneFile: Health And Medicine This link opens in a new windowFocuses on nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
- Ovid Nursing Database - Abstracting & Medline & Ovid Nursing Full-Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains links to full-text when available from over 400 nursing journals with coverage dates as far back as 1995.
- ProQuest Health & Medical Collection (PQ Central) This link opens in a new windowCovers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines.
E-books
ICD-10-PCS 2023 the Complete Official Codebook by ISBN: 9781640162259Publication Date: 2022CD-10-PCS 2023: The Complete Official Codebook contains the complete ICD-10-PCS code set and supplementary appendixes required for reporting inpatient procedures. This illustrated codebook presents the code set in 17 sections of tables arranged by general procedure type.
CPT Professional 2022 by ISBN: 9781640160873Publication Date: 2021CPT 2022 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help healthcare professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly EasyPublication Date: 2017-12-19Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!(R), 4th Editionoffers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level
Library Search Box
Search All
You are searching books, e-books, articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals, DVDs, market research reports, and selected Web resources.
Search Articles
You are searching articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and scholarly journals.
Search Books
You are searching books and e-books.