Ask Julie for Help
Find Articles
Library Search Box
Search All
You are searching books, e-books, articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals, DVDs, market research reports, and selected Web resources.
Search Articles
You are searching articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and scholarly journals.
Search Books
You are searching books and e-books.
Health Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health articles with more than 50 nursing specialties. Includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
- Gale Health And Wellness This link opens in a new windowProvides articles and background resources for drug and health-related topics, and contains a medical encyclopedia and dictionary.
- Gale OneFile: Health And Medicine This link opens in a new windowFocuses on nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Consumer/patient-oriented, high-quality, relevant, and understandable health and wellness information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Ovid Nursing Full-Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing articles for researchers and practitioners.
- ProQuest Health & Medical Collection (PQ Central) This link opens in a new windowCovers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database (PQ Central) This link opens in a new windowArticles from nursing, allied health, and related publications.
Additional Useful Databases
When searching the databases for information, keep the following tips in mind
- Click on Full-Text to retrieve articles that can be read immediately
- Click on Peer reviewed or Refereed to view articles from scholarly journals
- Enter in keywords rather than full sentences
- Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of subjects from science, technology, and medicine to the humanities.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Discusses opposing viewpoints on current social issues.
Videos
- Medline Plus Surgery VideosThis page provides links to prerecorded webcasts of surgical procedures. These are actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States. Please note that you cannot send in questions by email, though the webcast may say that you can, because you are not seeing these videos live.
Websites
- Infectious Disease Research InstituteOrganization that works to apply innovative science to develop products to eliminate infectious diseases of global importance.
- The Disease DailyDisease Daily is created by a team of medical doctors, veterinarians, and public health professionals who believe that infectious disease news should be accessible to everyone. As a publication from HealthMap, The Disease Daily has access to real-time reporting of infectious disease events all over the world.
- HIVWeb site and blog from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to provide complete information about HIV. Formerly named AIDS.gov.
- Mayo ClinicThe "Patient Care and Health Information" section of the Mayo web site links to more about diseases and conditions.
- Office of Disease PreventionNational Institutes of Health offers resources and interactive tools to learn more about preventing disease.