Find Articles, Data & Statistics

Specific Health Databases

Campbell Collaboration
The Campbell Collaboration is an international social science research network that produces high quality, open and policy-relevant evidence syntheses, plain language summaries and policy briefs.

CINAHL Ultimate
Nursing and allied health articles with more than 50 nursing specialties. Includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.

Cochrane Library - Cochrane Reviews
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

MedlinePlus
Consumer/patient-oriented, high-quality, relevant, and understandable health and wellness information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
It provides access to:- the A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia- the Merriam-Webster medical dictionary- Drug and supplement information from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) via AHFS® Consumer Medication Information, and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Consumer Version- AHFS® Consumer Medication Information (with extensive information about more than 1,000 brand name and generic prescription and over-the-counter drugs, including side effects, precautions and storage for each drug) - Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Consumer Version (an evidence-based collection of information on alternative treatments). MedlinePlus has 100 monographs on herbs and supplements.- Interactive tutorials from the Patient Education Institute explaining over 165 procedures and conditions
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database (PQ Central)
Articles from nursing, allied health, and related publications.
PubMed
PubMed is research-oriented and comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.

Journals

Data & Statistics

CDC Data & Statistics
Data and statistics provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It is a public domain Web site, which means you may link to CDC.gov at no cost and without specific permission.
Data.gov
Explore vast amounts of raw and interactive data. For example, download a data set that combines Medicare and Medicaid information meaningful use within the EHR Incentive Programs.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data
The GHO is part of the World Health Organization (WHO), and the GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 health topics indicators.
Healthdata.gov
125 years of US healthcare data including claim-level Medicare data, epidemiology and population statistics.
Policy Map (Open Version)
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs, and more in communities across the US.
DATA Library Guide
This DU guide links to public data sources and also shows how to find raw data.
Statistics Library Guide
A DU library guide that includes many links to statistics.

Web Tutorials

CINAHL Advanced Search Tutorial
In this video, Katharine Holmes demonstrates how to use CINAHL's Advanced Search option. (15:42 minutes)
Database Tips from a Third Year Nursing Student
An engaging video from a United Kingdom nursing student with helpful tips for searching databases. (17:34 minutes)
PubMed: Search a PICO Question
7:24 minute video.
PubMed for Nurses Tutorial
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice training course. Includes Scenarios, Try-it Exercises and Additional Training.

Library Search Box

Search All

You are searching books, e-books, articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals, DVDs, market research reports, and selected Web resources.

Search Articles

You are searching articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and scholarly journals.

Search Books

You are searching books and e-books.

NURS 415 Evidence-Based Nursing Guide